Adele named songwriter of the year at Ivors

Adele has been named Songwriter of the Year at The Ivors.

The singer-songwriter made her triumphant return last year with third album25, and while not one of her comeback tracks were nominated, the woman herself was a big winner at the star studded ceremony.

The other bi winners on the day were:

  • PRS for Music Most Performed Work: Hold Back The River – Written by Iain Archer and James Bay
  • Best Television Soundtrack: London Spy – Composed by Keefus Ciancia and David Holmes
  • The Ivors Classical Music Award: Oliver Knussen
  • International Achievement: Wayne Hector
  • Best Song Musically and Lyrically: Wasn’t Expecting That – Written by Jamie Lawson
  • The Ivors Inspiration Award – Mark Day, Paul Davis, Paul Ryder, Shaun Ryder and Gary Whelan
  • Album Award: Darling Arithmetic – Written by Conor O’Brien
  • Songwriter of the Year: Adele Adkins
  • Best Original Film Score: Ex_Machina – Composed by Geoff Barrow and Ben Salisbury
  • Best Contemporary Song: All My Friends: Written by James Carter, Oliver Lee, Cass Lowe and Chance The Rapper
  • Outstanding Song Collection: Charlie Burchill, Jim Kerr and Mick MacNeil
  • PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music: Geoff Barrow, Beth Gibbons and Adrian Utley
  • Lifetime Achievement: Damon Albarn
  • PRS for Music Special International Award: Bryan Adams