Beaten Khan to query scoring

Amir Khan and his team intend to raise concerns about the performance of the referee and the judges’ scoring after the British boxer was beaten by Lamont Peterson.

Khan was twice docked a point for pushing his opponent and went on to lose the fight by a split decision.

The deposed champion said afterwards that he felt he had been fighting two men – Peterson and the referee.

A statement from Team Khan read: ‘Firstly, we would like to congratulate Lamont Peterson on his performance against Amir Khan.  Not only has he shown that he is a tremendous fighter inside the ring, but also a great man out of the ring.

In close: Khan allowed Peterson to get inside his jab with dire consequences‘Following the decision in the fight, Team Khan and Golden Boy Promotions intends to make inquiries with the District of Columbia Boxing and Wrestling Commission, the IBF and the WBA regarding the performance of referee Joseph Cooper and will also be seeking clarification regarding certain ambiguities with respect to the scores of the fight.

‘We look forward to an immediate rematch with Lamont as confirmed by Lamont and his manager/trainer Barry Hunter.’

Immediately after the decision, Khan said: ‘It was like I was against two people in there. He kept trying to pick me up. He was wild. He was coming in with his head lower and lower every time.

‘I had to push him away because he was trying to come in with his head. He was just so low. He was being effective in pressurising me but I was the cleaner fighter all night.

‘I am ready for a rematch. I am here and I will take it. I knew it would be tough against him in his home town and this is why boxing has not been in Washington DC for 20 years – because you get a decision like that.

‘I thought he was going to head butt me and that is why I pushed him.’

Query: Judge George Hill made a correction to his scorecard

Peterson was simply happy to finally have two belts around his waist.

‘I came into this fight as the underdog with most people giving me no chance of winning,’ he said. ‘But I followed my game plan.

‘I knew this was a 12-round fight – not just three rounds – and I didn’t get worried when I got knocked down in the first round.

‘I came back. He was holding my head and pushing me down. That’s why the ref took the two points off.

‘My body shots were working. I will definitely give him a rematch, why not? He gave me a shot at his titles in the first place so I will give him a rematch, no problem.’